El Chorro crew reunited!

Firstly sorry for the lack of posts over the last couple of weeks. It has been a bit of a busy one! Guilfest was the main attraction. Some good partying was done and it reminded that I really do love a good rave on!

Andy C @ Guilfest

Andy C @ Guilfest

Anyway, now that I have made my excuses back to the climbing! Back in March while on a climbing trip to El Chorro we met some lovely people, Joe, Frankie and Luke. We had some good times climbing, drinking and playing cards together. They were the folk who introduced me to the joys of slacklining and the reason why I have now bought one!

A few weeks ago I was happily informed that they were coming up North for some trad climbing and they invited me along. It was great to get out with them again and boy were we lucky with the weather. All week, I had been checking the weather with varying levels of dismay. Fortunately when it came to the crunch it held off long enough and we managed to get a good day in at Stanage.

El Chorro crew reunited - L to R, Joe, Frankie, Luke and me

El Chorro crew reunited – L to R, Joe, Frankie, Luke and me

Frankie got in her second and third trad leads which was great. She is a talented sport climber and it was great to see her get stuck into the trad.

Frankie getting stuck into some trad climbing!

Frankie getting stuck into some trad climbing!

For Luke it was a bit of a trad revival after a brief break of around 20 years! Watching him climb you never would have known. Great climbing and creative placements showed he still had it!

Luke seconding Narrow Buttress VS 4c and my feet!

Luke seconding Narrow Buttress VS 4c and my feet!

For me and Joe it was just a chance to get out, and get some nice trad climbs in on the quality Stanage gritstone! I climbed a few routes that I hadn’t done before and my final climb of the day was a real adventure. As I was climbing a bold lay back crack the rain threatened to come in. As I moved through the final crux moves the heavens opened. Luke then had to follow-up in the rain and reclaim the gear, no mean feat but he handled it with style!

We ended up the day with a few games of pool and a couple of pints in Hathersage!

Hopefully we can all get out again together soon and I hope that my climbing partner Ian Westerby will be there so we can make it a full El Chorro reunion!

Leave a Reply

